IWM Associates are experts drawn from a range of fields including arts and culture, media, academia, policy and the NGO sector. IWM Associates are at the core of the IWM Institute and will use their own unique perspectives from their respective fields to support the development of fresh and creative approaches to public engagement with war and conflict.

IWM Associates

  • Charlie Winter - King's College London
    Charlie Winter

    Charlie Winter is a Senior Research Fellow at the International Centre for the Study of Radicalisation (ICSR) at King's College London.

  • Lina Khatib
    Dr Lina Khatib

    Lina Khatib is Head of the Middle East and North Africa Programme at Chatham House.

  • Shona Illingworth - artist
    Shona Illingworth

    Shona Illingworth is a Danish Scottish artist who works across a range of media including sound, film, video, photography and drawing.

  • Jonathan Cohen
    Jonathan Cohen

    Jonathan Cohen is Executive Director of Conciliation Resources.

  • Professor David Galbreath
    Professor David Galbreath

    David J Galbreath is Professor of International Security and Dean of the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences at the University of Bath.

  • James Wallis
    Dr James Wallis

    James Wallis is a Research Fellow at the University of Essex, and an Honorary Research Fellow at the University of Exeter.

  • Catriona Pennell
    Professor Catriona Pennell

    Catriona Pennell is Associate Professor of History at the University of Exeter.

  • Chris Phillips
    Dr Chris Phillips

    Christopher Phillips is Reader in International Relations at Queen Mary, University of London.

  • Joanna Bourke
    Professor Joanna Bourke

    Joanna Bourke is Professor of History at Birkbeck, University of London.

  • Tim Cole
    Professor Tim Cole

    Tim Cole is Professor of Social History at the University of Bristol.

  • Rana Mitter
    Professor Rana Mitter

    Rana Mitter is Professor of the History and Politics of Modern China and Director of the University China Centre at the University of Oxford.

  • Hew Strachan
    Professor Sir Hew Strachan

    Hew Strachan is Professor of International Relations at the University of St Andrews.

  • Patrick Vernon
    Patrick Vernon

    Patrick Vernon OBE is a film-maker and cultural historian, and founder of both Every Generation Media and the 100 Great Black Britons campaign.


  • C-Chinkin
    Professor Christine Chinkin

    Christine Chinkin is the founding Director of the Centre for Women, Peace and Security at the London School of Economics.

  • Jean Seaton
    Professor Jean Seaton

    Jean Seaton is Professor of Media History at the University of Westminster and the Official Historian of the BBC.

  • Heather Jones
    Dr Heather Jones

    Heather Jones is Professor of Modern and Contemporary European History at University College London.

  • Neil Bartlett
    Neil Bartlett

    Neil Bartlett OBE is an author and theatre director.

  • David Loyn
    David Loyn

    David Loyn is an author and Visiting Senior Research Fellow in the Department of War Studies at King’s College London.